It Mattered to that One: Raising Awareness of Sexually Exploited Women in Asia

Starfish badge I hate to admit but I had very little knowledge of the horrific bondage so many women were forced into around the world. Sure, I had heard the word “sex trafficking” but since it wasn’t in my backyard, I was able to push it aside and continue in my little bubble. Then, I began seeing clothing stores that partnered with organizations helping these women. By my purchase,  I would help fund a woman across the world to learn a skill that could inevitably change her entire life. Many of these boutiques are bringing awareness to women that are sexually exploited. In fact, they are becoming the voice of so many women that have had their voices silenced.

For the longest time, I stood from a distance and admired the women and organizations that had taken a stand. But I always had an excuse as to why I couldn’t do something. I justified to myself that the little monetary support I could raise would not even scratch the surface of this issue. I am the type of person that prefers to be hands-on in all of my projects and since I knew that I couldn’t drop everything and go,  I decided to do nothing.

A few weeks ago, I got an email from Starfish Project, asking for me to join in their fundraising efforts. At first, I just closed the email, a million and one reasons going through my head as to why I couldn’t help. Then, I watched the video of the women that they were helping and my heart broke. You see, it is easy to justify why you can’t  help until you see the faces  of those that need the help.

I want to share with you the parable that was the final push to make me say, “I can do something.” starfish parable

One day, an old man was walking along a beach that was littered with thousands of starfish that had been washed ashore by the high tide. As he walked he came upon a young boy who was eagerly throwing the starfish back into the ocean, one by one.

Puzzled, the man looked at the boy and asked what he was doing. Without looking up from his task, the boy simply replied, “I’m saving these starfish, Sir”.

The old man chuckled aloud, “Son, there are thousands of starfish and only one of you. What difference can you make?”

The boy picked up a starfish, gently tossed it into the water and turning to the man, said, “I made a difference to that one!”

I do ask that you take a moment after reading, pray how you can help and consider donating to the cause. The Starfish Image on the blog will lead you to the fundraising page.   Regardless of what you can do, it will matter to one.

Leave a Reply

