My Crash List of Thankfulness

happy thanksgiving

I woke  today with a clear mind.

It was the first time in over a month that I felt my brain was not on the edge of short circuiting. The month of October was not a good month and the health issues that followed me into November put me in a place where my mind was very dark.

I could not think.

I could not write.

I could not articulate how I felt.

I could, however, tell you there was no part of me that was thankful for what I was experiencing.

For those that know me personally, I will be the first to admit I am not good at getting close or opening up. I find it particularly hard to show people my weaknesses and I rarely cry.

I am always the strong one.

Always the counselor.

And then the other day happened.

I found myself on the couch of my dear friend of only a few months sobbing and she was counseling me. She prayed over me. Asking God, on my behalf, for a sound mind during my health issues. Grace for myself and my family as I dealt with things simply out of my control. She called for all fear to leave in JESUS NAME.

I woke today with a clear mind.

I can think.

I am writing.

I am thankful.

And though I cannot say everything is right with the world, my perspective changed with one little surrender of my pride and admittance that I was not okay. It is amazing what one little adjustment to your soul will do. I had allowed satan to take life and twist it. The mind is a great battlefield and if all thoughts are not held captive Satan can easily take your joy.

Not today snake.

My thankfulness is not in all the holiday festivities. It is in Christ Jesus. But I thought it would be fun to share my thankful list with you. I failed miserably to catalog  it day-to-day as many do but who says it is too late? So, here is my crash list of things I am thankful for this life season.

  1. I am thankful for a Father that loves me
  2. I am thankful for His guiding hand even when I don’t know or understand where He is leading
  3. I am thankful for prayer and the warriors that fight the battles on their knees
  4. I am thankful for the storms of life so that I will remember to appreciate the rainbows
  5. I am thankful for friends that stand in the gap when you can barely stand on your own
  6. I am thankful for a husband that leads even in a world that tells him he doesn’t have to
  7. I am thankful for children that have a heart for their community and friends
  8. I am thankful I get to be part of the day-to-day life and learning of my children
  9. I am thankful for those little ‘God moments’ that He uses to remind me He is there
  10. I am thankful for books
  11. I am thankful for coffee (lots of it)
  12. I am thankful for honest conversations that need to happen
  13. I am thankful for challenges, for they remind me what is worth fighting for
  14. I am thankful for bacon (I had to throw that in there to see if you were reading)
  15. I am thankful for a roof over my head and the headache that comes with a 77-year-old home
  16. I am thankful for friends that are like family
  17. I am thankful for live Christmas trees
  18. I am thankful for laughter and tears
  19. I am thankful for the Christian women in my life that mentored my relationships
  20. I am thankful for the chance to mend broken relationships
  21. I am thankful for second chances
  22. I am thankful for the loudness and chaos of a home filled with active children
  23. I am thankful for all the people over the years, move after move, that took us in and made us family
  24. I am thankful to be able to watch my children’s passions in life grow
  25. I am thankful for pumpkin spice and vanilla chai tea (yes, I already said coffee but chai tea deserves its own)
  26. From my kids: I am thankful for daddy (me too)

black friday book sale on amazon

(click on the image for #blackfriday and #cybermonday deal. All books are 99¢)

Leave a Reply

