Sinking Sand

sandFor vacation, my family and I enjoy spending the week at the beach. As much as I enjoy the ocean waves, I do not venture out too far in the water. Most of my time is spent near the shoreline. I just cannot get past the idea that I am sharing that big “pool” with lots of things with sharp teeth!

With so much happening in life right now, I could not help but reflect on my time at the beach and how the pull of the ocean waves resembled life at times.
As the water rushed in and drifted back out, I could feel its strong pull on my body. It made it very difficult to keep my balance, especially as the sand was washed out from under my feet. It made me think of the scripture in Matthew 7:24-27:

“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

Difficult times (the “waves”) will come and go in your life. It’s inevitable. How do you cope when you lose your balance? What is your foundation built upon…the Rock (God) or the sand (world)?

Passages:

Deuteronomy 31:8

Psalms 91:2, 27:5

1 Peter 5:10

4 thoughts on “Sinking Sand

  1. Love it. The picture of the waves, tug of the tide, sand and its erosion under your feet (I can feel it!).Your theme is very much like some things I’ve written in my (newly published!) book, Brokenness to Beauty: Transforming Your Brokenness into a Beautiful Life. Your quote above could have fit right into one of my chapters. I even used the same Scripture passage. I love how God speaks through his people! Thanks for speaking.

Leave a Reply

